I Fidget with the Widget—My Stalled Weight Loss

Standard

bruce leeIf you look on the right hand side, you will see I installed a new widget onto the blog.  It’s more for me than anyone else, maybe another something to hold me accountable.

I am fat.  Obese.  Overweight.  Hefty.  Rubenesque.  Voluptuous.  Whatever you want to call it, I am big.

I have always been on the large side because I was not an athletic child.  I also got bullied in elementary and high school to the point where I am still amazed I didn’t commit suicide at age 15.  College didn’t help at all and though my weight always hovered around the 230 mark, that is definitely NOT healthy for a woman of my age.

I started this weight loss journey 13 months ago when I was at my absolute heaviest (almost 250.  Needless to say, I was pretty disgusted when I got on the scale).  I was in a much worse place back then, living in a state I hated and working a job I hated just as much.  I was desperate to change something about my life—anything, really—so at my life coach’s prodding, I joined Weight Watchers and started from there.

Within a month, I got a new job and moved back to my hometown to be closer to my family.  I took up running for something to do while I was living with my parents lest they drive me insane, and my fitness increased.  I trained to run my first 5K last November and by then, I had shed almost 30 pounds, well more than 10% of my starting weight.

Then Christmas happened.

Since then, it has been a struggle to push past this plateau I hit.  My weight loss has hovered around the 22-24 pound mark but I can’t seem to lose any more weight despite exercising faithfully.  It is frustrating, so I am doing a few things to jump-start my weight loss:

  1.  I am increasing my protein intake at breakfast, having a bigger lunch and eating smaller portions at dinner.  Adding peanut butter to my morning shake has done a lot to help curb hunger in the morning.
  2. I have been getting a lot of crap from my coworkers, but I turned my desk into a standing desk.  It only took a few minutes and didn’t cost me a dime.  Is it perfect?  No, but it’s better than just sitting.  I don’t stand all the time.  On the mornings when I run, I tend to sit because of my back and on evenings where I have to work at the mall, I tend to sit because I don’t want to be on my feet ALL day.
  3. I am getting more fanatical about my Weight Watcher tracking.  I have been lazy the last couple months, but there really is success in writing down everything that goes into your mouth and being honest with it.

These are small steps but I lost 1.5 pounds this week, so it’s a good start.  While I’m certainly not happy having hit this plateau, I have many things to be thankful for.  First of all, my BMI has gone down 3 points and I have lost about 10% of my body weight.  I am a whole size smaller and I donated all my size 18 clothes to charity as fast as I could so I would not be even remotely tempted to creep back up to that size.  I have a lot more energy most days and I know I have accomplished something many have set out to do and nit had nearly as much success and I have.

So here’s to widgets, hard work and more weight loss in the weeks to come!

3 responses »

  1. What about evening snacks? I found that when I really worked hard to stop snacking by 9:00 (I know they say by 7 but since I am up until almost 12 every night and not the healthier 10, I figure it is a wash). As long as I can keep this up, I feel better when I go to bed, and I know I am not putting needless calories into my body. Sometimes I will get some gum, or a candy or some red hots (cinnamon is great for this, I find that even big red gum does wonders during the day to curb hunger!) to curb the evening hunger and give me something else to think about.
    Changing up your workout would be something else I would suggest. I was in a very good place in April and May with working out, but I have stopped that altogether it seems and have let laziness get the better of me! Here’s hoping we can work past our slumps!

    • Hey Mary! Night snacking is a tough spot too. So I bought some expensive individually wrapped chocolate squares. I eat one around 8 or 9, really enjoying it, then drink a crap ton of water. Cinnamon flavored stuff sounds like a good choice–will def. have to try big red gum!!!
      Changing up my workout…I run very consistently, 2 miles a pop 3 times a week. I don’t want to cycle or walk, and I cannot do the elliptical. Do you have any other suggestions? I know I REALLY should add some strength training into the mix, but I need something VERY simple that would only be 10-15 minutes 2 or 3 times a week. Any suggestions?

      • I will send you a link to workout I do! I think it is on my Fitness Pinterest board, but I will find it and direct you to it!

Leave a Reply

