Chick in the Back Pew–Church #4

Standard

chicks in hatsSeries Note:  I was raised Catholic but I have hit the point where I cannot justify going to Mass anymore.  I disagree too much with the church’s rigidity but still want to find a place I can call my church home.  One of my New Year’s goals is to visit a new church every 3-4 weeks and along the way I will rate what I thought of the service based on criteria that are important to me.  I will not give the name of the entire church because these folks are nice enough to welcome me into their place of worship.

Church Name

C—– U—– Methodist

 

Grade

Comments

Was I welcomed?

3

  • There was only one entrance and we had to stand and wait in line for the ushers to shake our hands.  The line moved very slow.  That annoyed me.  A lot.
  • I was warmly greeted by other churchgoers during their equivalent of the sign of peace.

Music

2

  • Organist also played the piano.  Simply phenomenal.
  • Didn’t care for the soloist, but she also did a duet on the bells which I’d never seen before.  That was fascinating!  How does that work?

Sermon

1

  • Easily the high point of my visit.
  • The pastor had a charming, folksy rural Kansas drawl.
  • He connected the forthcoming Man of Steel movie to the mythology of the superhero to Jesus.  Done deftly and with a lot of humor.

Singles

5

  • About 200 people at the service.  I was the only one I could see in the 27-45ish age bracket alone and without children.
  • No singles ministry.

Ministries

5

  • Perusing the bulletin, they no bible study, no singles ministry, no groups of any kind for adults.  L

Congregation

4

  • Very Caucasian.
  • Not many families.  The congregation’s median age was well above the other churches I have visited.

Service time

52 minutes.  I ducked out after communion.

Miscellaneous notes

  • Tricky parking lot.  I was stuck a long time waiting to pull into a parking space because I was bottlenecked behind cars letting elderly relatives out in front of the church.
  • The church smelled really funky.  Like mothballs and damp.  Reminded me of my grandparents’ house!

Would I return?

  • No.  I regret that because I really, REALLY wanted to like this church—I have friends that go there.  The pastor was exquisite and the music was nice.  But the congregation didn’t have the vibe I was looking for and not enough community activities. L
2 responses »

  1. This is genius! I have struggled with the idea of religion for my whole life. I wasn’t raised in a church or with must religion in the house (although I often say that with the amount of guilt I feel in my life, I’d be a natural Catholic). In my adult life, I’ve tried out a few churches and have found positives and negatives in each. My struggle is more with whether or not I believe, but I’ve found in my 10 years in the Midwest that there is a certain social draw to church even if you are on the fence.

    I look forward to more of your reviews, as it may help me define what I find imperative in a church.

    • I really appreciate your comments, Lisa. It means a lot coming from a witty lady such as yourself! Even though I am an ex-nun, I am not particularly religious. I do believe in God and read the Bible most days, but I am looking for a church for the social aspects than anything else. As you know, we Midwesterners like our churches but even living in my own hometown after being gone a few years, there’s still a disconnect. I don’t know if you’re impatient like me–I wanna find a good church like NOW–but unfortunately this process takes time and it’s not an exact science. There are lots of good people and lots of good churches–it’s just a question of finding the one that’s the correct fit for YOU, right? ❤

Leave a Reply

