April Showers Bring May Flowers. So What Do May Flowers Bring?

Standard

ImageI hate May.

There, I said it.  And I won’t take it back.

The weather gets hotter, bugs crawl all over the place.  TV goes into reruns.  The humidity goes up, you have to crank the A/C and you sweat a lot.

And May marks the end of a lot of things.  

I hate it.

Maybe I was a student and a teacher for so long, but I’ve never been a big fan of this month and all the good-byes that it brings.  As a student, I hated finishing classes I so enjoyed and the camaraderie of other students.  The month of May meant we were all taking off to parts unknown to work summer jobs and be in summer school.  Graduations meant people were leaving.

As a teacher, it was hard to say good-bye to really sweet kids and know as soon as they walked out that classroom door, they were headed off to parts unknown to work summer jobs and be in summer school.  Graduations meant the kiddos are growing up, I was getting older and in 12 short weeks there would be  a new crop of freshmen to break in.

It was two years ago this month I lost my best friend from high school.  She died very unexpectedly and that is just another reason I hate May.  Also a very nice, collegial co-worker is leaving our department.  I’d only known him a year but he’d been with the department twelve years.  More good-byes.

I hate good-byes.

But you know what?  I have choices.  I can choose to flip through my yearbooks, pining for the life that was or could have been.  I could cry at all the weddings, engagement parties and graduation celebrations hating that life is changing.  

Or I could put on my big girl pants and say, “Carpe diem.”

Instead of waxing nostalgia, I could enjoy every day for what it is and embrace the changes that life brings when people come and go.  New friends come along.  New students tumble into class.  New co-workers are there.  There’s no reason to be sad unless I keep my head in the sand and refuse to look up and enjoy the great things going on!

Do I still hate May?  Maybe a little, but I appreciate this season of my life for what it is.  I wish all the best to the graduates and all others making life transitions.  Don’t forget that no matter where you go, there you are (to quote Buckaroo Banzai).  And carpe diem!

2 responses »

  1. I hate May for the very same reasons. In fact I hate all of summer for those same reasons. It’s easier to warm up than it is to cool down and in winter you don’t have to worry about bugs all the time.

    • Amen! Seriously, it’s easy to throw a sweater on but there are only so many layers you can peel off 😉

      And mosquitoes, ticks, chiggers, ants, cicada, grasshoppers…really–you can KEEP them!!!

Leave a Reply

