Pain in the @$$!!!

Standard

ImageI have a lot of respect for food service employees.  The job straight up sucks.  As a former salad bar wench, I worked in a nasty, dirty, icky restaurant.  Genius me, when I was 17, I slipped in a water puddle and thudded right on my tailbone.  Being the normal indestructible teenager I thought I was, I shrugged it off and went merrily on my way.

Till 17 years later.  It came back to bite me in the butt.  Literally.

One morning I could not get out of bed.  My chiropractors said there is no rhyme or reason for back pain, but the long and short of it is that my coccyx is badly out of whack and I live with chronic back pain.  Here are five things I have learned about living with awful back pain:

  1.  Aleve works wonders.  Ibuprofen is for sissies when it comes to real pain.  But I have recently stopped taking Aleve because God only knows what it is doing to the lining my stomach.
  2. A good mattress is worth more than its weight in gold.  When the back pain started a year ago, I was sleeping on a third-hand used mattress.  I pitched it and bought a proper pillowtop mattress.  It was more than I had paid for all the furniture in my apartment at the time, but pain does not keep me up at night.  The mattress really is the foundation for treating back pain, as far as I’m concerned.
  3. A good chiropractor is invaluable.  I found mine though word of mouth and I have been very happy.  I follow his advice to the letter.  I figure he knows it better than I do!
  4. Related to that…I have daily exercises and stretches to do to help my back.  Yes it is a pain in the butt (no pun intended) to schedule those throughout the day, but because I am in so much pain, I will do what it takes to manage it!
  5. This is the shittiest part—I have to accept my limitations.  I went for a three-mile run this weekend, but I could only finish two miles and had to walk the rest of the way.  I was in tears when I told my chiro (who is about my age) this.  He listen patiently and explained I can still do what I love (running), but I have to taper back until my body can adjest to the changes in muscles and posture I have been doing.  I think that is the hardest part for me…I am in the prime of my life and I don’t like my dictating what I can and can’t do.

But you know what?  I am determined to follow his advice.  Proper diet, proper rest, excerice, stretching, good posture and regular chiro visits.  I’m sorry but I have my first 5K in a month and I’ll be damned if I’ll be a slave to this f***ing pain!!!

Leave a Reply

