Second 5K in Two Months (part un)

Standard

ImageThe Ugly Christmas Sweater 5K.  My friend Angie.  Beer, ugly sweaters, a 5K and it all benefits Toys for Tots.

Win-win situation all around, if you ask me!

Preparing for the 5K took some finagling.  I had to register and pay online.  Make sure I had the date right so I could take the day off my seasonal job.  But more importantly, I had to me an ugly-ass sweater and a moustache…which is apparently something the Ugly Sweater folks encourage their runners to wear.

The moustaches weren’t hard to find.  All it took was a quick eBay search and I got a handlebar moustache for me and a ginger one for the naturally redheaded Angie.  But the ugly sweater…

That is probably another blog post, but I don’t decorate for the holidays.  I don’t own a tree, a strand of lights.  No wreaths on my door, no wrapping paper, ornaments.  Nada.  And it’s not that I don’t like Christmas—I LOVE it!!!—but my parents OVERdecorate so my solution is 100% minimalist.

Thankfully my mother is a bit of a hoarder and had an almost cute sweater vest from her heavier days.  Mom’s lost over 40 pounds on Weight Watchers and her heaviest size is about where I am now, so the sweater fit beautifully.

Registration?  Check.

Ugly Christmas sweater?  Check.

Fake ‘staches?  Check.

Ready to run?  Uh…

I had tapered my jogging considerably since my last 5K after Thanksgiving, running two miles instead of three.  But I got my sleepy butt up at 5:30 am for two weeks to run three miles just so that I wouldn’t make a complete ass of myself when the actual day arrived.

And dude, it came up fast!

To be continued…

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

