(Debt) Free at last!

Standard

I love Jimmy MacMillan…the debt IS too damn high.

In another attempt to give myself the kick in the pants I need to live the life I want, I shuffled some money around and paid off the last of my credit card debt…$4,395.95.  I paid it off 18 months early, and I am giddy with excitement.  (I still have my car to finish paying, but I am now laser-focused on that).

I have my aunt to thank for introducing me to Dave Ramsey.  I am in the process of taking his Financial Peace University for the second time, and thanks to him I have paid more than $17,000 in credit card debt off in four years.

It has been a slow process.  I admit the debt was all my doing.  It started with a $2,500 car repair bill, then I decided to go to Europe.  It just spiraled from there.  In 2008 I woke up, smelled the coffee, and realized I’ve been living with a millstone around my neck.  I was a slave to the master of my Visa card and I’ll be damned if I’ll fall prey to it again.

Has it been hard?  Sure!  I’ve gone without cable, not purchased brand-name things that I like, I’ve taken my tax returns and thrown it at the debt.  But the result is I’ve paid of $17K in four years all by myself.  Little ol’ me.

So to quote the great MLK:

Free at last.

Free  at last.

Thank God Almighty, I am free at last.

Leave a Reply

