Aside

Couch (Potato) to 5 Killer Kilometers

So I joined Weight Watchers in May.  I wasn’t taking it seriously so in July I decided to get serious.  I started tracking all the food I put in my mouth and I started jogging.

Yeah, me.  Jogging.  All 200+ pounds of me.

The Couch 2 5K is a nine-week program <http://www.c25k.com/podcasts.htm> developed for couch potatoes to get them running a 5K.  Every week starts with a five-minute warm up and cool down.  Week 1 has you run 60 seconds, walk 90, run 60, etc. for a total of about a half hour.  The running intervals increase and walking decreases until eventually you run 30 straight minutes.

I started in July which is one of the hottest, ookiest months here.  I dragged my butt out of bed at 5:30 to jog in the mornings when the sun was just peeking over the horizon and the humidity hovered lightly in the air.  I got early morning showers in badly calibrated sprinklers and was dripping with sweat and mud when I got home.  I got blisters, side splints, sore legs and my lungs screamed for air.  I was a total noob.

Fast forward to today.  I jogged 2.25 miles, breathing levelly, enjoying the waning night stars and cold dawn air.  My brain shuts off as I let the music take over and my feet fly.  I focus on nothing but the music, my breathing and the distant traffic lights.  I don’t think about how tired I am, work, money, lack of a boyfriend…just me and the open road.

Sure, I’ve lost the ability to hit the snooze button.  I still get sore muscles and blisters.  I run slower than the podcast assumes (I jog 4.5 mph, they assume you run 6), so I have to increase my running time before my first 5K race in November.  But I am down 20 pounds in just two months and am up a boatload of confidence.  I haven’t looked or felt this good since college and I plan to continue running in the morning until the snow flies…then I’ll switch to the treadmill J

But just for today I took a quick little victory lap.  I committed to the nine weeks.

And I won.

Couch (Potato) …

Leave a Reply

