Smocked back open cardi

Image

Smocked back open cardi

It’s summer.  It’s hot…over 100 degrees here in the Great Plains.  Let’s face it ladies…it’s summer, it’s humid and it’s NASTY outside!!!

I know a lot of plus-sized ladies are self-conscientious about their upper arms.  I can be at times, especially when I wave–you know what I’m talking about!  But when I’m running, inside the house or hanging out the lake I could really care less.  But, of course, in the real world I work and go to church.  I can’t just wear tank tops and think it’s all good.  I found something from Lane Bryant that is BEYOND perfect.

Lanebryant.com lists this as a “smock back open cardigan” as as of this posting, the only color listed on the website is “sparkling grape.”  I snagged a black one back in June.  I paid full price but IMHO it was worth twice that.  Let me have lb.com give you the deets:

“Short sleeve knit open cardigan lets you keep your trendy layered look throughout the warmer months with our Fun & Flirty modal blend. Detailed with a banded, open placket and smocked back accent to flatter your shape. Endless style options with all the season’s best-loved colors.”

This is  hands down the best summer weight cardi I have worn.  Ever.  Period.  The smocked part sits right above the small of my back and it doesn’t move.  I don’t fidget adjusting the cardi; it stays in place.  The smocking detail also gives the sweater such a great fitted look while the open front minimizes my problem area (for me, the stomach).

The other great thing about this cardi is it fits perfectly over spaghetti-strapped camis.  I have over a dozen of the LB camis with the lace detail–they just fit so well–and the sweater nicely hides bra and cami straps.  All while keeping the arms covered in comfy modal, one of the greatest, softest, drapiest materials ever.  I tend to get super hot and this sweater is a real winner, even for sweating little ol’ me 🙂

While the price tag of $34.95 isn’t the cheapest, I’ve gotten more than my money’s worth out of the three weeks I’ve had this sweater.  It has so far (knock on wood) washed beautifully in the wash and if/when LB puts out more colors, I’ll be all over them like bees at a barbecue 😀

Leave a Reply

