Summer footwear part 3

Standard

My last blog post for bunion-friendly summer footwear is something you can wear every day with almost every casual outfit.  I got my Keen Newports last year for my trip to Québec and I wasn’t disappointed.

I appreciate these shoes for their wide, comfortable footbed.  I also like the fact that the straps comfortably hide my ugly bunions but also for my foot to breathe, unlike many walking shoes.  I think the shoe offers good arch support (I have none to speak of) and are great for strolls around town.  The elastic laces hold the shoes on comfortably yet they slip easily off to let you get through airport security.  They also come in a wide range of fun colors.  To be honest, I am disappointed with the colors offered on Keen’s website.  I got mine in a great mulberry color on eBay.  Speaking of eBay, at $100, these shoes are far from cheap.  I highly recommend purchasing them on eBay from a reputable buyer because you will have a larger selection of colors than many retailers carry also for a fraction of the price.

These shoes are not perfect, though.  My biggest complaint is that these shoes took many days and blisters to break in.  Once they were broken in they were my best friend.  But do NOT wear these shoes for hikes or long walks without breaking them in days beforehand.  I realize this is a shoe is not the most attractive thing on the planet but honey, those shoes were made for walking…but who cares?  This is definitely a case of function over form.

Here is a list of shoes features from keenfootwear.com:

The secure fit strap design adjusts for a comfortable fit. The rubber outsole features a multi-directional lug pattern and razor siping for the right traction over wet and dry surfaces. The metatomical footbed conforms to your foot’s shape for personalized comfort that’s way beyond ordinary.

– Aegis Microbe Shield™ treated lining
– Compression molded EVA midsole
– Microfiber footbed cover
– Multi directional lug pattern with razor siping
– Non-marking rubber outsole
– Patented toe protection
– Secure fit lace capture system
– Washable waterproof leather upper

PS–I am so sorry for the lateness of this post.  Between starting my new job and the insanity of moving, I have had little time to be online let alone enjoy blogging.  But I am back, baby and ready to blog!  🙂

Leave a Reply

