Paul Bunion!!! Challenges of summer footwear part 1

Standard

(Note–this is NOT my foot!)

Being of a certain size can take the fun out of shopping with friends who are smaller sizes.  I’ve been told in the past, “Well, at least you can shop for shoes!”  Unfortunately this is not always the case.  While my feet are only a size 8, which is small considering I am 5’8″, and I have been complimented for my inexplicably skinny ankles, I suffer from the unsightly…unseemly…

…BUNIONS!

Yes, those ugly-ass protrusions on the sides of your big toe.  The Mayo Clinic says bunions are “…abnormal, bony bump[s] that form on the joint at the base of your big toe…when your big toe pushes up against your other toes, forcing your big toe joint in the opposite direction, away from normal profile of your foot.”  (I am grateful they do not use medicalese for those of us who never took anatomy and object to dissecting things).

My sisters teased me mercilessly about my bunions as a girl and while I am much more comfortable in my own skin now, I am still very conscientious about my rather unattractive feet and summer is unpleasant when it comes to footwear.  This month I will post tips on what sandals or summer footwear will look good on your feet and ways you can pamper your tootsies.  If you have bunions, these posts are for you.  If you don’t have bunions, I still want you to read on 🙂

One response »

  1. Looking forward to your posts on summer shoes for less than stellar feet (mine!). My feet are not aging terribly well and I crave comfort, but draw the line at some of the hideous, clunky designs.

    A few years ago I started buying Clarke’s and generally they’ve been the most comfortable. But for the first time in my life, I returned shoes because of discomfort. They were Clarke’s and it was the first time I’d purchased their brand which was not made in England. The salesman assured me that all the specs were the same. Previously I’d bought 2 other pairs in the same style and never had the same problem.

    Please discuss brand names to help with shopping. I need all the help I can get. 🙂

Leave a Reply

